

Canadian Ski Patrol, Calgary Zone Association

Tuesday June 23, 2020 6:00pm – 7:00pm Online Zoom meeting

| | 2020 Annual General Meeting Minutes |
|----|--|
| 1. | Call to Order Zone President (J. Rioux) called meeting to order at 18:00hrs Accounting of members present confirmed quorum present and AGM to proceed (greater than 10% of membership which is currently 189 members) |
| 2. | Accept 2018 AGM Meeting Minutes Motion to accept 2019 AGM meeting minutes as issued with no changes by A. Kraemer, seconded by G. Scotton. Unanimous vote to accept – MOTION PASSED. |
| 3. | VP Reports VP Reports issued via email 2 weeks prior to AGM Q&A from membership Status of summer events? − All events cancelled at this time but continuing to monitor Will there be a new patroller course? − Monitoring provincial guidance and plan to target go/no-go decision in August Any questions from prospective patrollers or the public on PPE requirements? − None Will instructors need to be recertified in 2020? − No. However, all patrollers will need to complete an online requalification in 2020 which will outline the changes to the AFA manual. |
| 4. | 2018/19 Financials VP Finance (R. Sinclair) reviewed 2019/20 financials, answered questions, and presented 2020/21 budget Motion to accept 2019/20 audited financial statements by G. Merz, seconded by R. Taylor. Unanimous vote to accept – MOTION PASSED. Motion to accept Lockhart LLP as auditors for 2020/21 season by G. Scotton, seconded by J. Rioux. Unanimous vote to accept – MOTION PASSED. VP Finance (R. Sinclair) reviewed 2020/21 budget. It was noted that this is austerity budget and reduced revenues are expected. G. Merz mentioned that the casino is open, but only for slots (no table play). Motion to accept 2020/21 budget by R. Sinclair, seconded by R. Lewis. Unanimous vote to accept with one "nay" – MOTION PASSED. |

2020 Annual General Meeting Minutes

5. New Business

- Motion Accept Executive Annual Dues Exemption, submitted by: Jean Rioux, President, Calgary Zone jean.rioux@skipatrol.ca on March 24, 2020
- Motion: It is proposed that any elected member serving on the Calgary Zone Executive, be exempt from paying all CSP annual dues while they are actively serving on the Executive. Elected member includes each of the 8 Executives (officers) and Patrol Leaders who have a vote on the Executive Committee. The Calgary Zone will fund these annual dues on their behalf. Should the Executive member quit the Executive or be asked to leave the Executive for whatever reason mid-season, they are obligated pay to Calgary Zone the CSP annual dues they were previously exempt from for that particular season. If approved, this resolution will be reflected in the Zone Procedures.
- Discussion:
- G. Scotton raised concern with potential conflict of interest with Zone Bylaws. Section III, 11) states:
 "No Executive member shall be entitled to remuneration for time expended in carrying out the duties of the Zone."
- There was a healthy debate on the interpretation of this clause, and caution was raised about potential future challenges of this decision as the interpretation is "grey" and not "black or white".
- General consensus reached that the clause in the Bylaw was intended to ensure that Executive
 members were not to be paid or receive income for their service on the Executive, and that the intent
 of this motion is a form of recognition and not renumeration.
- It was also highlighted that this is not consistent with the austerity budget proposed.
- Most were in agreement that the value is immaterial (~\$500/year), there is precedent for similar recognition in the Zone, and this recognition is deserved for the hard volunteer work put forth by the Executive.
- Motion to Accept Executive Annual Dues Exemption by J. Rioux, seconded by R. Lewis. Unanimous vote to accept – MOTION PASSED.

6. Elections

- S. Williams reviewed the open positions and explained the electoral process. Open positions included: Zone President (2 year term), VP Administration (2 year term), and two VP at Large positions (2 year terms).
- S. Williams thanked the outgoing Executive members and members were excused
- S. Williams explained the unique situation with the 2020 elections given the COVID pandemic, and the decision to use the online voting system, SimplyVoting.com to elect the new executives
- S. Williams indicated that the following formal nominations were received and were uncontested:
 - Cody Whitten for the position of Zone President
 - Nancy Seaman for the position of VP Administration
 - Kai Seltner and Hilary Haliburton for the positions of VP at Large
- Cody Whitten, Nancy Seaman, Kai Seltner, and Hilary Haliburton accepted nominations. No other nominations were received prior to the June 9th deadline.
- Mike Palamarek, Division President was the Election Scrutineer and provided Elizabeth with the election results from SimplyVoting.com
- Cody Whitten, Nancy Seaman, Kai Seltner, and Hilary Haliburton were elected to their respective positions
- S. Williams presented the 2020 Executive Board

| | 2020 Annual General Meeting Minutes |
|----|--|
| 7. | Adjournment C. Whitten thanked J. Rioux for his excellent service and fine work as Zone President Declaration of adjournment of the 2020 AGM by C. Whitten. Meeting adjourned at 19:37hrs. |