Welcome to Mountain Division

Welcome to the CSP Mountain Division. We are proud to deliver advanced first aid and rescue services through our nearly 700 volunteer members throughout Alberta and the Yukon, and to be leaders within the Canadian Ski Patrol. We are committed to excellence and expertise in operations with our resort partners and enjoyable, challenging and fulfilling experiences for our members. We support skiing, snowboarding, winter sports – and special events of all types year ‘round. We don’t just patrol on snow.

The CSP Mountain Division includes our member patrols at roughly 30 resorts and ski areas stretching from the Whitehorse, Yukon (Mt. Sima) to Lethbridge, Alberta (Castle Mountain), west to the iconic Lake Louise and east to the Medicine Hills near Medicine Hat (Hidden Valley). Our members patrol at marquee resorts such as Marmot Basin, Sunshine Village and Lake Louise as well as local favourites such as Mt. Maichen in Watson Lake, Yukon; Tawatinaw Valley in Westlock, Alberta and Snow Valley in Edmonton.

Our roots stretch back to the 1940s and some of the earliest development of recreational skiing in Canada’s national parks and elsewhere, including the Calgary and Edmonton areas. Our foundational Calgary Zone began in the early ‘50s. Today, the CSP Mountain Division is a leader in patrol education and training development within the Canadian Ski Patrol and the industry.

Structurally, the CSP Mountain Division is made up of 11 local chapters, or zones, in Calgary, Drayton Valley, Fort McMurray, Edmonton, Peace (Peace River), Pembina (Westlock County) Palliser (Medicine Hat), Red Deer, Southern Alberta, Watson Lake and the Yukon. Our advanced first aid course is recognized and accredited by the governments of Alberta and the Yukon.

We welcome women and men from all backgrounds and cultures and offer a fabulous opportunity for personal development, community service, skills building, and for some, a path to careers in outdoor recreation and emergency services.