Various questions have been posted on social media over the past few years about the national recognition program, and we have heard of other questions through various channels. Here are some of the answers. If you have a question you want answered, please contact Recognition Program Chair Craig Taggart, at

What awards are available at the national level?

There are 16 different awards available for nomination, in addition to recognizing 25, 50 and 60 years of service.

What types of awards are given?

The awards cover a wide range of areas. Lifesaving and bravery awards; public relations and safety awards, education awards, leadership awards and contribution awards are some.

And there are the National Appreciation, Canadian Ski Patroller, and Life Member awards which recognize the dedication and efforts of individuals. Each of these has very specific criteria

Who can put forth a nomination?

Any member in good standing. Nominations can come from an individual patroller, a committee, or a group of individuals.

Who decides on who gets awards?

The national recognition committee is made up of seven individuals from across the country plus a chairperson. The individuals are representative of our national diversity, coming from various regions of the country, years of experience, differing levels of involvement, and a mix of male and female members.

Be honest, there must be some form of politics involved, isn’t there? 

While the chair reports to the vice-president of patrol operations, there is no involvement or influence by the management committee or board of directors. The regulations also state that any attempt to influence a committee member is reported, and that any individual found to be in violation is subject to disciplinary action. Reviewing and scoring of nominations is confidential and kept within the committee. Final recommendations for award recipients are sent to the board of directors for approval.

How can I become a member of the committee?

The term of a committee member is three years, and each year there is a mandated turnover of members. Notices are put out through various methods and applications are sought. Members must have at least five years experience in the CSP.

Must you have received a zone or division award before receiving a national award?

Ensure your nominees have met the prerequisites, and if it’s not possible to meet them, explain why in the nomination. In many cases, it is desirable to have been recognized at the zone and/or division level. In some cases, there may not be a zone or division awards program. If there is not, consider starting one – it does not need to be anything big, but something is better than nothing. Reach out to the recognition committee – we are happy to help with that.

Recognition program Q & A

This post is also available in: Français